1 St. John's National Academy of Health Sciences

St John's Medical College Hospital

Overview - Neurology

Department of Neurology was formed in 1983. Dr. R. Srinivasa was the first Neurologist and head of the department. Over the past 34 years the department has grown under the able leadership and guidance of Dr, Vengamma, Dr. Geetha Rangan, Dr. A. K. Roy and Dr. G. R. K. Sarma. The current head of the department is Dr. Thomas Mathew. The Department of Neurology is renowned nationally and internationally. Team consists of Dr GRK Sarma ( Professor), Dr Thomas Mathew ( Professor and Head), Dr. Raghunandan Nadig (Associate Professor) , Dr, Sagar Badachi ( Assistant Professor) and Dr. Akash Awati (Assistant Professor).

The department provides out patient services from Monday to Saturday from 9.00 am to 6.30 pm. Inpatient services are given 24/7 basis. We have 24 hours emergency and critical care providing service to all life threatening and serious neurological disorders like Stroke, Guillain Barre syndrome, Seizures and Myasthenia Gravis. All neurological diseases from Headache, Vertigo, Back ache , Fibromyalgia, Epilepsy,Arterial stroke, Venous strokes, Neuroinfections ,Tuberculosis, Cysticercal infection, Parkisons Disease, Alzhiemer's Disease, Dementias, Multiple Sclerosis, Neuromyelitis Optica, Myasthenia, Guillain Barre Syndrome, CIDP,Myopathies, Neuropathies to Ataxias are managed by team. 

Specialty Clinics : 

  • Neuro Immunology Clinic :  (Multiple Sclerosis, NMO spectrum disorder, MOG antibody disease and Myasthenia Gravis clinic): 1st and 3rd Wednesday.  
  • Refractory Migraine Clinic :  2nd and 4th Wednesday.   


The consultation will be done on every Wednesdays at 3.00pm to 4.00pm on prior appointment.  Patients have to take the appointments by mailing to hod.neuro@stjohns.in.