Overview - Clinical Microbiology

The Microbiology Department began functioning as an Independent Department from 1976. The late Dr. Prema Bhat guided the Department in its initial stages and she was succeeded by Dr. Ragini Macaden, Dr. H.Srinivasa and Dr. S.Muralidhran. The current HOD is Dr. N.S.Srikanth.

The Department is well known for in vitro cultivation of the Malarial parasite and extensive work on enteric infections. More recently studies involving fungi ,Pneumococci, Haemophilus influenza and bacterial resistance mechanisms are being addressed. Molecular techniques for research were introduced in 2009.

Microbiology runs a 24 hour laboratory in the Hospital premises and has been accredited by the NABL since 2007. It is also involved in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programmes.

Click here to know more about the Department.

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO