Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC)

The Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) of St. John’s National Academy of Health Sciences, Bangalore was established in the year 2000 to ensure the Institution’s commitment to the promotion of high scientific and ethical standards in patient care, professional education, and biomedical research including clinical, laboratory, and community research. Its primary responsibility is to safeguard the rights, safety, and well-being of human subjects involved in biomedical research

The IEC oversees research undertaken by the students and faculty of all entities registered under St. John’s National Academy of Health Sciences (SJNAHS). It functions by the Standard Operating Procedures which ensures participants’ interests are upheld in accordance with the Institution’s policies and values as well as National and international guidelines.

The IEC Secretariat is located on the ground floor of the Medical College and functions between 9 am till 4.30 pm. The Deadline for submission of fresh proposals is the 15 th of every month. The IEC meets on the 1 st Thursday of every month. The meetings are held in accordance with the national regulatory guidelines. The member secretary along with the team ensures a smooth review and decision process for every proposal submitted. The approved protocols are monitored by a planned audit schedule as well as scrutiny of all documents submitted by the study teams. The IEC is also involved in training and educating faculty and students on ethical research principles.

Registration and Accreditation:

• Registered with the Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO) under the Directorate General of Health Services,Ministry of Health &
   Family Welfare, Government of India (Ref. No. ECR/238/Inst/KA/2013/RR-19 issued under New Drugs and Clinical Trials Rules, 2019; valid till 22 nd
   April 2024)

• Registered with the Department of Health Research, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India (Certificate No.
   EC/NEW/INST/2022/KA/0096 dated 10 th June 2022 for a period of five years)

• The IEC is accredited under National Accreditation Board for Hospital & Healthcare providers (NABH) (Ref. No. EC-CT-2019- 0084; valid till 19 th
   February 2025)

The Team consists of a group of experienced members from various disciplines who strongly believe in ethical conduct of research.
The Main IEC The Scientific and SAE
Review Committee
Office Secretariat
1.Dr. Karuna Rameshkumar (Pathology): Chairperson
2. Mrs. Kalpana Subramanaya (Lay person):
3. Dr. Jayanthi Savio (Microbiology)
4. Dr. Prem Pais (Medicine)
5. Dr. Jyothi Idiculla (Medicine)
6. Dr. Mary Joseph (Ophthalmology)
7. Dr. Kavitha Rajarathna (Pharmacology)
8. Dr. Jagdish Chinnappa (Paediatrics)
9. Dr. Manjulika Vaz (Health & Humanities)
10. Mr. Anil Albert D’Souza (Lawyer)
1. Dr. Johnson Pradeep (Psychiatry)
2. Dr. Savitha D (Physiology)
3. Dr. Manjuladevi M (Anesthesiology)
4. Mrs. Martha Jayashree (Lawyer)
5. Rev. Fr. Christopher Vimalraj Hiruthya (Theology)
6. Mrs. Nisha C.K. (Nurse)
7. Dr. Nancy Angeline G (Community Medicine)
1. Mrs. Mary Bridget (Department Secretary)
2. Mrs. Geraldine Sharmila (Secretarial Assistant)
3. Mr. Terrence D’Silva (Office Assistant)

Current IEC Members List

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO