Ragging is a cognizable offence punishable with imprisonment and/or fine according to Section 116 of the Karnataka Education Act, 1983, and under various Sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC). Students involved in ragging will be liable, in addition to criminal prosecution, to rustication, dismissal and expulsion from the College. "Ragging means causing, inducing, compelling or forcing a student, whether by way of practical joke or otherwise, to do any act which detracts from human dignity or violates his person or exposes him to ridicule or to forbear from doing any lawful act, by intimidating wrongfully restraining, wrongfully confining, or injuring him or by using criminal force to him or by holding out to him any threat of such intimidation, wrongful restraint, wrongful confinement, injury or the use of criminal force". (Karnataka Education Act, 1983, Section 2 (29).

Click here to download the National Medical Commission (Prevention and Prohibition of Ragging in Medical Colleges and Institutions) Regulations, 2021.

The National Medical Commission has taken a serious view of the increasing incidents of ragging and consequences leading to suicidal tendency among the medical students across all medical institutions. To facilitate the medical students to lodge complaints with the National Medical Commission also in addition to the concerned college/institute, the following dedicated email ID has been created:


Rev. Dr. Paul Parathazham
(0ff) 26274011 (Mob)9591990301

Rev. Dr. Fr. J Charles Davis
Associate Director – College
(0ff) 49466003 (Mob)9591990305

Dr. George A. D'Souza
(0ff) 49466006 (Mob)9449820962

Dr. Anuradha Ananthamurthy
Vice Dean – UG
(0ff) 49466009 (Mob) 9845943114

Dr. John Stephen
Vice Dean – PG
(Off) 49466010 (Mob) 9880352049

Dr. Mary Dias
Vice Dean – AHS
(Off) 49466011 (Mob) 9980525187

Dr. Marjorie Correa
(Off) 49466002 (Mob)9845407661

Dr. Arvind Kasturi
Chief of Medical Services
(Off) 22065135 (Mob) 9880902992

Dr. Anwar K. A.
Asst. Warden Assisi Block
(Mob) 9995490069

Mr. Shankar Ganesh
Asst. Warden, Baptist Block
(Mob) 8925080987

Dr. Sejil T. V.
Asst. Warden Chavara Block
(Mob) 9886377375

Dr. Lokendra Yadav
Asst. Warden, Damian Block
(Mob) 9986441794

Mr. Joshvan D’Souza
Asst. Warden, Nirmala Block
(Mob) 9632217279

Sr. Princy
Asst. Warden Mother Theresa Hostel
(Mob) 9611370344

Sr. Jessie Saldanha
Asst. Warden Alphonsa A Block
(Mob) 9886846655

Sr. Sharlet
Asst. Warden Alphonsa B Block
(Mob) 8078357724

Sr. Juliana Pereira
Asst. Warden, Alphonsa C Block
(Mob) 9701434736

Sr. Vimal Jose
Asst. Warden Little Flower Hostel A block,
(Mob) 9745914503

Sr. Elizabeth Paul
Asst. Warden, Little Flower Hostel B block,
(Mob) 9846797098

Sr. Alphonsa Jyothi
Asst. Warden, Annexe 3
(Mob) 9037950897

Dr. Varghese P. S.
Faculty Representative
(Off) 49466350 (Mob) 9886072336

Dr. Arpana Iyengar
Faculty Representative
(Off) 22065455 (Mob) 9880372660

Dr. Ravi L. Kaushik
Parent Representative
(Mob) 9880466478

Mr. Jeejo P. O.
Parent Representative
(Mob) 9845312410

Mr. Vincent Shantakumar
General Manager, Security & Vigilance
(Mob) 9591990322

Mr. Raja Rao
Asst. Security Officer,
(Off) 22065094 (Mob) 9591990323

Mr. Himanth Sunkara
Hostel Manager,
Warden Mercy Hostel
(Mob) 7981593999

Antiragging Policy

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO