Overview - Biochemistry

The Department of Biochemistry has existed since the inception of the medical college in 1963.
There are 11 teaching and 8 non teaching staff in the department currently. Dr Kalyankar was the first Head of the department. Since then, Dr Virupaksha, Dr T Venkatesh, Dr Sheila Uthappa, Dr Sultana Furruqh, Dr Anita R Bijoor and Dr Anitha Devanath have headed the department. Each and every one of them has taken the department to greater heights during their tenure. Dr Anita R Bijoor is the current Head of the department.
The department initially started with MBBS course in 1963 and since then has added additional courses and now conducts teaching programs for 150 MBBS, 60 BSc MLT, 30 BPT, 10 MSc MLT, 140 nursing and 12 MD students. We also try to innovate teaching methods by adopting e-learning effectively. The department actively encourages research activities and has ongoing funded research projects.

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO