Overview - General Surgery

The Department of General Surgery is one of the major service and teaching departments in the Institution.

The department currently has 15 faculty, 6 senior residents and 15 post graduates and interns.

The department has 4 units with an additional Division of vascular surgery.

The department was established in 1966 at St. Martha’s Hospital, Bengaluru which was the teaching hospital for students of St. John’s Medical College. Between 1980 and 1983 all units from St. Martha’s Hospital were shifted to St. John’s Medical College Hospital, which then onwards has been the teaching Hospital for students of St.Johns.

The Heads of this Department have been as follows:
  • Dr M.V Bansod. 

  • Dr Laji Joseph

  • Dr. P.A. Abraham

  • Dr  A.F.A Mascarenhas

  • Dr Nanda Kumar Jairam

  • Dr Arun Kilpadi

  • Dr Philip Thomas

  • Dr L N Mohan

  • Dr Anthony Rozario

  • Dr Arun Kilpadi ( 2nd term)

  • Dr L N Mohan ( 2nd term) current HOD

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO