Overview - Microbiology

The Microbiology Department began functioning as an Independent Department from 1976. The late Dr. Prema Bhat guided the Department in its initial stages and she was succeeded by Dr. Ragini Macaden, Dr. H Srinivasa, Dr. S Muralidhran and N S Srikanth. The current HOD is Dr. Savitha Nagaraj.

The Department of Microbiology is part of the St. John’s Laboratory services which offers various modalities for diagnosis of infectious diseases. The department comprising of 12 faculty and around 70 laboratory personnel offers a 24/7 diagnostic service. The Laboratory is accredited by National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration Laboratories (NABL) since 2007.

We have a dynamic group of microbiologists who strive to provide timely and accurate reports to aid in patient care. Along with the conventional diagnostic techniques, rapid tests and state of the art automated equipment with latest technologies have been incorporated into the laboratory services. Apart from diagnostics, academic and research work forms a major component of the departmental activities. Continual medical education in the form of workshops and conferences are held every year.

© 2022 St John's Medical College all rights reserved | Designed by INTEGRO